Ambitions as a (Pro) Rider

So I’ve managed to get myself a last minute place on Deloitte Ride Across Britain 2015. Ride Across Britain is a 9 day bicycle ride, end to end across Great Britain (Northern Ireland isn’t actually part of Great Britain, only the UK, fact of the day). In total it’s over 1,500 km from Land’s End to John ‘O Groats (LEJOG).

One of my dream careers (apart from my current job, obviously) is to be a professional cyclist, hence the title of this blog (apart from paying homage to Tupac Shakur). This will be the closest I’ve come to emulating a professional cyclist so I thought I’d embrace social media at last and write about my endeavours (read: pain). Note that although this is the biggest physical challenge I’ve ever undertaken (and for many people who take part), I’m by no means comparing my experience to the feats performed by the professionals.

I don’t actually expect many people to read this, but by voicing my aims in the public domain, I’m much more likely to go through with the training, eating well etc! I’m quite proud so whenever I say something to those around me, I’ll follow through. If I only plan to do something mentally, my mind’s very good with coming up with excuses as to why I shouldn’t…

Day 1 of Ride Across Britain begins on 5th September 2015, so I’ve got just over 2 months to get into some sort of shape.

Wish me luck!

Ambitions as a (Pro) Rider

Leave a Reply

